2022 Association Croquet World Team Championship Tiers 2.1, 2.2 and 3

Congratulations to the winning teams at the 2022 AC World Team Championship - Tiers 2.1, 2.2 and 3.

This event took place at the Budleigh Salterton Croquet Club, Devon, England between 9-14 August 2022.

It started with an early pre-match on 8th August between Canada and Sweden, to determine which team would compete in Tier 2.1. This was due to the previous test remaining unfinished back in 2017. Sweden were successful and so took their place in Tier 2.1 for the main series of tests.

Tier 2.1 therefore consisted of Ireland, Scotland, Sweden and Wales. By the final day it was very tight between Scotland and Wales. The final test was 3-3, a tie, however, Scotland took the series due to winning more of the Singles matches.

Congratulations to the team of Duncan Reeve, Lorna Dewar, David Warhurst and Chris Martin.

Tiers 2.2 and 3 started by competing together and after 2 days were split into the 2 divisions. The 5 teams were Austria, Canada, Czech Republic, Germany and South Africa.

Tier 2.2 was won by Canada. Congratulations to Brian Cumming, Nick Mitchell, Jim Wright and Pierre Dunn.

Tier 3 was won by South Africa. Congratulations Andrew Hobbs,Nick Harvey, Judith Hanekom and Christine Wakeham.

Full results can be found on CroquetScores:

WCF AC WTC Canada v Sweden Play-off 8th August 2022
WCF AC WTC Tier 2.1
WCF AC WTC Tiers 2.2 & 3
WCF AC WTC Tier 2.2

Player profiles can be found on the Budleigh Salterton website -  please click here

2017 AC World Team Tier 2.1 title – Wales regain title

Wales completed a clean sweep of victories in Tier 2.1 of the 2017 Association Croquet World Team Championship, defeating Ireland (the holders) and Spain by 5-1 and Scotland by 4-2.  Wales had won the inaugural Tier 2.1 in 2010.

Scotland were runners-up with a 6-0 whitewash of Ireland in their opening Test Match and an official draw with Spain after torrential rain on the final afternoon brought proceedings to an early close.  The Playing Regulations require four matches to be completed before a result can be declared and, when play was abandoned, Scotland had won three matches and led 1-0 in two other matches.

Ireland defeated Spain 3-2 in a match that had to be reduced to three players per side because of the unavailability of a Spanish player on days 3 and 4.

Results can be found on the Croquet Records Website - WorldTeams2.1:2017

Or on Croquet Scores

Champion: Wales (Ian Burridge, Garry McElwain, Cliff Jones, Chris Williams)

Second:  Scotland (David Magee, Campbell Morrison, Martin Murray, Duncan Reeve, John Surgenor)

3rd: Ireland (Jack Clingan, Peter Moore, Nathaniel Healy, Evan Newell, Ian Vincent, Simon Williams)

4th: Spain (Fernando Alvarez-Sala, Lucas Azcona, Juan Bravo-Ferrer, Juan Ojeda, Jose Riva)




2010 AC World Team Championship Tier 2.1 – Champion: Wales

The 1st WCF Association Croquet Team Championship - Tier 2.1
Venue: The Hurlingham Club, London, England
Dates: 16-21 August 2010

Champion: Wales (Ian Burridge, David Walters, Chris Williams, Sam Tudor)

2nd: South Africa (Reg Bamford, Andrew Hobbs, William Louw, Nick Harvey)

3rd: Jersey (James Le Moignan, Tony Le Moignan, Gavin Carter, Richard Griffiths)

4th: Ireland (Andrew Johnston, Ed Cunningham, Kieran Murphy, Danny Johnston)

Results can be found below or on the Croquet Records Website:  2010 World Teams Tier 2.1

Ireland beat Jersey 4-3
Johnston D & Murphy lost to Le Moignan & Le Moignan +25, -13tp(TLM), -17
Cunningham & Johnston A lost to Carter & Griffiths -24, -7tp
Andrew Johnston beat James Le Moignan +17tp, +25tp
Ed Cunningham beat Tony Le Moignan -16tp, +5, +17tp
Kieran Murphy lost to Gavin Carter -25, +25, -1
Danny Johnston beat Richard Griffiths -13, +26, +25
Cunningham & Johnston A beat Moignan & Le Moignan +26tp(C)
Danny Johnston lost to Gavin Carter -3
Kieran Murphy beat Richard Griffiths +14
South Africa beat Wales 4-2
Bamford & Hobbs lost to Burridge & Walters -16, -22
Louw & Harvey beat Tudor & Williams +12, -12tp(T), +5
Reg Bamford beat Ian Burridge +26sxp, +25stp
Andrew Hobbs lost to David Walters -26tp, -6
William Louw beat Chris Williams +16, +9
Nick Harvey beat Sam Tudor +8tpo, +12tp
Ireland lost to South Africa 2-4
Johnston & Murphy lost to Bamford & Hobbs -23, -2tp(B)
Cunningham & Johnston beat Louw & Harvey +13, +6qp(C)
Andrew Johnston beat Reg Bamford -26qp, +26tp, +2
Ed Cunningham lost to Andrew Hobbs -13, -21
Kieran Murphy lost to William Louw -20tp, -16
Danny Johnston lost to Nick Harvey -5, -12
Jersey lost to Wales 2-4
Le Moignan & Le Moignan beat Burridge & Walters +6tpo(J), +17tp(T)
Carter & Griffiths lost to Tudor & Williams -16tp(T), +16tp(C), -4tp(T)
James Le Moignan lost to Ian Burridge -15tp, -10
Tony Le Moignan lost to David Walters -4, -13
Gavin Carter beat Chris Williams -26, +14, +15tp
Richard Griffiths lost to Sam Tudor -8tp, -14
Ireland lost to Wales 1-5
A Johnston & Murphy lost to Burridge & Walters -3tp(B), -26tp(B)
Cunningham & D Johnston lost to Tudor & Williams -11tpo(C), +9tp(T), +26tp(T)
Andrew Johnston beat Ian Burridge -8tp, +17tp, +16tp
Ed Cunningham lost to David Walters -25, -13tpo
Kieran Murphy lost to Sam Tudor -12tp, -5
Danny Johnston lost to Chris Williams +26, -15, -26tp
Jersey beat South Africa 4-2
Le Moignan & Le Moignan lost to Bamford & Louw +16, -3tp(B), -26tp(B)
Carter & Griffiths beat Hobbs & Harvey +11, -12, +12
James Le Moignan lost to Reg Bamford -3qp, -26sxp
Tony Le Moignan beat Andrew Hobbs +17tp, +24tp
Gavin Carter beat William Louw -25, +3tp, +26tp
Richard Griffiths beat Nick Harvey +15, -1T, +17
Summary  Team Test Matches won Matches won
Champion  Wales 2 11
Second  S. Africa 2 11
Third  Jersey 1 9
Fourth  Ireland 1 6

The Welsh team: David Walters, Chris Williams, Ian Burridge and Sam Tudor

Charles Jones, WCF President, presents the trophy to Ian Burridge

At the Wimbledon Club Championship dinner, the Welsh team collecting the trophy

2014 AC WTC Tier 2.1 – Champion Ireland

The 2nd WCF Association Croquet Team Championship - Tier 2.1
Venue: Carrickmines, Dublin, Ireland
Dates: 12-17 May 2014

Champion: Ireland (Simon Williams, Patsy Fitzgerald, Danny Johnston, Nathaniel Healy, Evan Newell)

Second: Wales (Ian Burridge, David Walters, Chris Williams, Garry McElwain)

3rd: Scotland (Duncan Reeve, David Magee, Campbell Morrison, Andrew Hope)

4th: South Africa (Reg Bamford, Nick Harvey, Judith Hanekom, Victor Dladla)

Tier 2.1 of the Association Croquet World Team Championship was played at Carrickmines Croquet and Lawn Tennis Club, near Dublin, from 12 to 17 May 2014. The four teams were Wales (the holders), Ireland, Scotland and South Africa.

In a genuinely thrilling final match, Evan Newell (Ireland) defeated Garry McElwain (Wales) -12, +2, +13(t) to give Ireland a fourth point, victory over the holders, Wales, and outright victory in Tier 2.1 with three Test wins out of three.

Scotland and South Africa were tied at 3-3 but Scotland won the tie-break 2-1 and so were deemed to win the Test 4-3 and so come third overall.

Results can be found on the Croquet Records Website: 2014 World Teams 2.1