2014 AC WTC Tier 2.1 – Champion Ireland

The 2nd WCF Association Croquet Team Championship - Tier 2.1
Venue: Carrickmines, Dublin, Ireland
Dates: 12-17 May 2014

Champion: Ireland (Simon Williams, Patsy Fitzgerald, Danny Johnston, Nathaniel Healy, Evan Newell)

Second: Wales (Ian Burridge, David Walters, Chris Williams, Garry McElwain)

3rd: Scotland (Duncan Reeve, David Magee, Campbell Morrison, Andrew Hope)

4th: South Africa (Reg Bamford, Nick Harvey, Judith Hanekom, Victor Dladla)

Tier 2.1 of the Association Croquet World Team Championship was played at Carrickmines Croquet and Lawn Tennis Club, near Dublin, from 12 to 17 May 2014. The four teams were Wales (the holders), Ireland, Scotland and South Africa.

In a genuinely thrilling final match, Evan Newell (Ireland) defeated Garry McElwain (Wales) -12, +2, +13(t) to give Ireland a fourth point, victory over the holders, Wales, and outright victory in Tier 2.1 with three Test wins out of three.

Scotland and South Africa were tied at 3-3 but Scotland won the tie-break 2-1 and so were deemed to win the Test 4-3 and so come third overall.

Results can be found on the Croquet Records Website: 2014 World Teams 2.1