Reg Bamford wins his fifth AC World Championship

Reg Bamford (ZAF) defeated 21-year old Matthew Essick (USA) at the Victorian Croquet Centre in Melbourne to record his fifth Association Croquet world title, a record he shares with Robert Fulford (ENG). The scoreline was 26-12 tp, 14-26, 26-9 tp, 26-0 tp. Tricky court conditions tested both players’ ability to play precision croquet and Essick can be very proud of his performance, especially his semi-final victory over World No. 1, Robert Fletcher (AUS). However, Bamford’s greater experience and fine shooting proved ultimately decisive and he emerged a convincing winner.

New Zealand is the GC world team champion again

New Zealand defeated Egypt 7-4 (with two matches unfinished) to retain the Golf Croquet World Team Championship.

The event was held at Nelson-Hinemoa Croquet Club in Nelson, South Island, New Zealand from 6-12 January 2020.  A full report can be found here.

The detailed results can be found at


2020 GC WTC Tier 1 seeding announcement


The average grades of the top four players in each team at midnight on Sunday, 8 December 2019 were as follows:

   1 Egypt 2,596.00
   2 New Zealand 2,470.50
   3 USA 2,454.00
   4 England 2,450.25
   5 Australia 2,414.50
   6 South Africa 2,300.75
   7 Ireland 2,208.50
   8 Sweden 2,087.50

Accordingly, the teams have been seeded as follows:

 Seed Block A  Seed Block B
   1 Egypt    2 New Zealand
   3 USA    4 England
   6 South Africa    5 Australia
   8 Sweden    7 Ireland

2020 GC WTC Tier 1 teams

Tier 1 of the Golf Croquet World Team Championship is contested for the Openshaw Shield.

The Championship will next be held from 6 to 12 January 2020 at the Nelson-Hinemoa Croquet Club in Nelson, South Island, New Zealand.

The teams are as follows:

Australia                 Robert Fletcher, Peter Landrebe (c), Chris McWhirter, Edward Wilson

Egypt                     Amr Alebiary, Hamy Erian, Mohamed Karem, Soha Mostafa, Mostafa Nezar, Yasser Sayed

England                  Richard Bilton, John-Paul Moberly (c), Stephen Mulliner, Tobi Savage

Ireland                   Patsy Fitzgerald, Evan Newell, Robert O’Donoghue, Mark Stephens, Simon Williams (c)

New Zealand          Duncan Dixon, Edmund Fordyce, Joshua Freeth, Felix Webby (c)

South Africa           Reg Bamford, Victor Dladla, Judith Hanekom, William Louw

Sweden                 Simon Carlsson, Joi Elebo, Anders Moldin, Joakim Norback, Lewis Palmer

United States         Sherif Abdelwahab, Danny Huneycutt, David Maloof, Ben Rothman

The eight teams will be seeded according to the average published grade of their four highest-graded players at midnight on Sunday, 8 December 2019.



2020 GC WTC entry fee payment

Entry fees

Entry fees of £336 per team are due by midnight on Sunday, 3 November 2019.  Payment will be accepted by bank transfer or by PayPal.

Bank transfer

If you have a UK bank account or can transfer money into a UK bank account without significant charges, please pay the entry fee by bank transfer to the WCF bank account below.  In the “reference” or “remark” field, please put your name so it is clear to whom the entry fee relates.



If a bank transfer is not practicable, please use the button below.