New Zealand are the GC World Team Champions

New Zealand held a 4-2 lead overnight but saw the match tighten to 5-4 after the morning doubles and two singles.  A crowed of well over 100 watched the final four singles.

Ahmed Nasr kept Egyptian hopes alive by defeating Duncan Dixon 7-4, 7-6 but, in the bottom singles, where Egyptian hopes were probably highest, it was the turn of Jenny Clarke and Phillip Drew to rise to the occasion.

Jenny defeated Mohamed Nasr 7-4, 5-7, 7-3 and Phillip beat Hamy Erian 7-6, 7-6.  This gave New Zealand an unassailable 7-5 lead and the match between Chris Clarke and Mohamed Karem was abandoned at 6-6 in the second game, the first having gone to Chris 7-5.

The New Zealand team was presented with their winner’s medals by Amir Ramsis, the WCF President and the Openshaw Shield by David Openshaw himself.  Quiller Barrett, the President of the Croquet Association, paid a warm tribute to the great efforts made by the teams of vounteers at the host clubs of Surbiton, Bath, Camerton & Peasdown and Guildford & Godalming.