2020 Golf Croquet World Team Championship Tier 1

2020 Golf Croquet World Team Championship

Tier 1 of the Golf Croquet World Team Championship will be held from Monday 6 to Sunday 12 January 2020 at the Nelson-Hinemoa Croquet Club in Nelson, South Island, New Zealand.

Eight teams will compete for the Openshaw Shield, representing:

Australia, Egypt, England, Ireland, New Zealand (defending champion), South Africa, Sweden and the United States

The eight teams will be divided into two seeded blocks of four teams.

The event website may be found here.

The players selected may be found here.

The team seedings may be found here.


The contest will consist of a three day Block Stage from 6 to 8 January and a four day Knock Out Stage and Consolation Stage from 9 to 12 January.

All singles and doubles matches will consist of best-of-three 13 point games without time limits or double banking in the absence of emergencies.

Block Stage

Each will play a six match Test Match against each of the other teams in their block.  Each Test Match will consist of four singles matches and two doubles matches.  Each match 

A team will receive two points for a Test Match victory and one point for a draw.  The teams will be ranked in descending order of points won.  A play-off procedure will apply to resolve ties for first or second place.

The top two in each block will proceed to the Knock Out Stage.  The bottom two will proceed to the Consolation Stage.

Knock Out Stage

The winner of each block will play the second-placed team in the other block.

The semi-finals and final will consist of 13 match Test Matches played over two days.

The third-place play-off will consist of a 9 match Test Match.

Consolation Stage

On days 4 and 5 (9 and 10 January), the four teams will play six match Test Matches against the third and fourth placed teams from the other block.  The results of these matches will be amalgamated with the result of each team's match against the other team it met in the Block Stage to rank the teams from 1 to 4.

On days 6 and 7, Teams 1 and 2 will contest the 5th/6th play-off and Teams 3 and 4 will contest the 7th/8th play-off.  These Test Matches will each consist of nine matches,