The Laws of Association Croquet

Laws and Official Rulings

Association Croquet is played in accordance with the 6th Edition of the Laws of Association Croquet ("the AC Laws") as amended in 2008 and subject to the current Official Rulings.

The AC Laws may be found here.

The Official Rulings may be found here.

The WCF Association Croquet Laws Committee has now produced a draft 7th Edition for informal public consultation together with supporting documents.

7th Edition consultation draft

Changes log

ORLAC 6th edition issues

ACLC May 2017 meeting minutes

This informal consultation phase will end on 30 November 2019.  The ACLV will then produce a further draft which will then be subject to a further two month period of formal consultation with WCF Members which will also be open to public consultation.

Comments or questions may be sent directly to ACLC members, copied as appropriate to chairmen of national laws or referees committee.



The Laws of Association Croquet are the responsibility of the WCF's Association Croquet Laws Committee ("ACLC") which came into existence on 1 January 2017 in succession to the International Laws Committee which was a non-WCF body.  The ACLC is also responsible for maintaining the Official Rulings on the Laws of Croquet ("ORLC").  The scope and operations of the ACLC are set out in WCF Statute 132.  The ACLC consists of four voting members appointed by the WCF Members for Australia, England, New Zealand and the United States and a non-voting member appointed by the WCF Management Committee.

The members of the ACLC for the period 1 January 2017 to 31 December 2020 are:

Australia:         Elizabeth Fleming

England:          Ian Vincent

New Zealand:   Graeme Roberts

United States:  Martyn Selman

WFC MC:         Stephen Mulliner



For the first hundred years of AC's existence as an organised sport, the administration and evolution of the Laws of Association Croquet was regarded by all croquet-playing countries as a responsibility of the English governing body, the Croquet Association or "CA".  While the holding of the MacRobertson Shield contest every three or four years provided an opportunity for representatives of Australia, England and New Zealand to meet to discuss any issues relating to either the interpretation or coverage of the Laws, it was left to the CA and its Laws Committee to decide what changes, if any, should be made.

The establishment of the World Croquet Federation ("WCF") in 1989 was followed in 1990 by an international laws meeting in Christchurch, New Zealand which recognised that, owing to AC's innate complexity, amending a law to cure one perceived shortcoming could sometimes create a new difficulty or difficulties elsewhere.  Accordingly, it was agreed that it would usually be preferable to issue Official Rulings to deal with interpretative issues rather to make frequent amendments to the text of the Laws.  The advent of the WCF also made it desirable to involve input from other governing bodies when considering possible Rulings, something which was made much easier by advances in electronic communication.

In 2000, the 6th Edition of the AC Laws was published and resposnsibility for their administration was passed to a new body, the International Laws Committee ("ILC") which consisted of representatives of the governing bodies of the four largest AC-playing countries, namely Australia, England, New Zealand and the United States.

In 2016, the WCF obtained the agreement of all four governing bodies to transfer responsibility for the administration of the Laws from the ILC to a WCF Association Croquet Laws Committee ("ACLC") with the same purpose but with updated succession and governance provisions as set out in WCF Statute 132.