The Rules of Golf Croquet

Rules and Official Rulings

Golf Croquet is played in accordance with the WCF Rules of Golf Croquet ("the GC Rules") subject to any Official Rulings and Commentary.

The latest version of the GC Rules is the 5th Edition, which was approved in July 2018.  It may be found at Rules of Golf Croquet.

Official Rulings and Commentary in effect from 1 October 2018 may be found at Official Rulings and Commentary.


The GC Rules are the responsibility of the WCF's Golf Croquet Rules Committee ("GCRC").  The GCRC is also responsible for publishing Official Rulings and Commentary.  The scope and operations of the GCRC are set out in WCF Statute 133.  The GCRC consists of five voting members appointed by the WCF Members for Australia, Egypt, England, New Zealand and the United States.  Up to two other voting members may be elected by other WCF Members.  A non-voting member is appointed by the WCF Management Committee .

Members are appointed for a term of four years and are eligible to be re-appointed for one further term of four years.

The current members of the GCRC with dates of appointment are:

Australia:         Bernie Pfitzner (1 January 2019) 

Canada:           Georg Dej (1 January 2017)

Egypt:              Amir Ramsis (1 January 2017)

England:          Stephen Mulliner (1 January 2017)

New Zealand:   Brian Boutel (1 January 2017) (Chairman)

United States:  Jeff Hill (1 January 2017)


Golf Croquet ("GC") is known to have been played in England since the early 1900s.  Although there were separate GC tournaments, It was generally regarded as a minor variant and its rules were published as an appendix to the Laws of  Association Croquet.  Following the discovery of highly skilled GC in Egypt in the 1980s, GC began to attract increasing interest and support in other countries.  The WCF took responsibility for drafting modern GC Rules.

The WCF GC Rules Committee published the First Edition in 2000 and followed this with further editions in 2005, 2008, 2013 and, most recently, the Fifth Edition in 2018.